HSU Research Forum (HRF)  

Go Back   HSU Research Forum (HRF) > Hsu Central > Hsu Research - Setup and Placement Recommendations
Forum Help Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old March 21st, 2013, 1:16 PM

mheisig is on a distinguished road
First 5.1 Setup

I'm in the process of designing a home theater setup in a room that's 11'x13' with 8' ceilings. I'm pretty much sold on the Value 2 5.1 package but have a couple of questions since I'm a real novice at all of this.

This is a quick layout of the room:

Surround Speaker Placement
The couch is almost the same width as the room. I would like to mount the surrounds on wall mounts in the positions shown. Would this be considered much to close to the main listening position (center of couch)? They would be almost in line with the back of the couch (mounted at about 5-6' high on the wall) and might even overhang the couch a bit.

Subwoofer Placement
Based on other threads here I'm guessing that the STF-2 immediately behind the couch is okay?

Center Channel Placement
The center channel would be on the shelf of a built-in entertainment center, about 25" off the floor. Is that too low?

Thanks in advance. I'm itching to put this all together but would love to get any advice I can before pulling the trigger.
Old March 25th, 2013, 4:39 PM
Administrator

Ryan_Hsu is on a distinguished road
Hi Mheisig,

Sorry for the late reply, was enjoying finals week.

Concerning the Left/Right Surrounds:
Placement looks fine, please note that the HB-1 Mk2 do not have screw holes, so you'll most likely need side clamping wall mounts. Also as the HB-1 Mk2 will be higher than ear level I would recommend flipping them 180 degrees (tweeter on bottom and driver on top)

Concerning placement of STF-2: