HSU Research Forum (HRF)  

Go Back   HSU Research Forum (HRF) > Hsu Central > Hsu Research - Speakers and Subwoofers
Forum Help Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

View Poll Results: Which operating mode do you run your VTF-15H in?
Ported Max Output Mode: 2 ports open and EQ2. 10 43.48%
Ported Max Extension Mode: 1 port open and EQ1. 7 30.43%
Ported Max Headroom Mode: 1 port open and EQ2. 5 21.74%
Sealed Max Extension Mode: 0 ports open and EQ1. 0 0%
Sealed Max Headroom Mode: 0 ports open and EQ2. 1 4.35%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 15 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 12th, 2011, 12:35 PM
kinggimp's Avatar
kinggimp kinggimp is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Mar 2006
Location: green bay,wi
Posts: 196
kinggimp is on a distinguished road
Which operating mode do you run your VTF-15H in?

Which operating mode do you run your VTF-15H in?
__________________
Andrew
------------------------------
TV: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST30 55-Inch 1080p 3D Plasma
Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR706, Blu Ray: Sony BDP-N460
Fronts/Center: Ascend Acoustics Sierra-1, Rears: Ascend Acoustics HTM-200
Sub: HSU VTF-3 MK-4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 13th, 2011, 3:08 PM
Pete_Hsu Pete_Hsu is offline
Hsu Research
 
Member Since: Dec 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,212
Pete_Hsu will become famous soon enoughPete_Hsu will become famous soon enough
Hi Andrew,

In our demo room, we are running with both ports open/EQ2/Q = 0.3 .

Some time back I played around with various operating modes, and I liked all of them, with subtle strengths and weaknesses between the different modes depending on what program material was played and how loud it was played.

This thread is now a sticky

Sincerely,
__________________
Pete - Hsu Research
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 13th, 2011, 5:17 PM
Sputter Sputter is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 323
Sputter is on a distinguished road
LOL 3 votes and 3 different answers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 14th, 2011, 8:09 AM
kinggimp's Avatar
kinggimp kinggimp is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Mar 2006
Location: green bay,wi
Posts: 196
kinggimp is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete_Hsu View Post
Hi Andrew,

In our demo room, we are running with both ports open/EQ2/Q = 0.3 .

Some time back I played around with various operating modes, and I liked all of them, with subtle strengths and weaknesses between the different modes depending on what program material was played and how loud it was played.

This thread is now a sticky

Sincerely,
What kind of bass extension do you get running the sub in that mode?
__________________
Andrew
------------------------------
TV: Panasonic VIERA TC-P55ST30 55-Inch 1080p 3D Plasma
Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR706, Blu Ray: Sony BDP-N460
Fronts/Center: Ascend Acoustics Sierra-1, Rears: Ascend Acoustics HTM-200
Sub: HSU VTF-3 MK-4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 14th, 2011, 5:29 PM
Pete_Hsu Pete_Hsu is offline
Hsu Research
 
Member Since: Dec 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,212
Pete_Hsu will become famous soon enoughPete_Hsu will become famous soon enough
We get flat in-room response down to 16Hz with those settings!!! Our room is ~ 33 ft. deep, so there is a strong room mode close to 16Hz...
__________________
Pete - Hsu Research
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 18th, 2011, 6:30 AM
serge71 serge71 is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Jan 2011
Posts: 34
serge71 is on a distinguished road
Interesting trhead and poll!!...just voted...Q 0.5.....EQ2... one port open...i made some changes in my room lately and all i had to change was the phase...was on 150 and had to take it to 0...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 18th, 2011, 2:15 PM
Sputter Sputter is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 323
Sputter is on a distinguished road
I use 1 port eq1. Running in eq1 raised my 16hz response in line with my frequency curve. EQ2 rolled off my ~22hz more than I wanted.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 4th, 2011, 6:12 PM
Len B Len B is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Len B is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete_Hsu View Post
We get flat in-room response down to 16Hz with those settings!!! Our room is ~ 33 ft. deep, so there is a strong room mode close to 16Hz...
I use EQ2 with both ports open and Q .3 and also have a flat in-room response down to 16hz!

-Len
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 5th, 2011, 10:45 PM
Pete_Hsu Pete_Hsu is offline
Hsu Research
 
Member Since: Dec 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,212
Pete_Hsu will become famous soon enoughPete_Hsu will become famous soon enough
That's awesome Len! What are your room dimensions (HxWxD, including openings to other areas)?
__________________
Pete - Hsu Research
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 3rd, 2012, 10:17 AM
jsgrise's Avatar
jsgrise jsgrise is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Dec 2011
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 10
jsgrise is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete_Hsu View Post
Hi Andrew,

In our demo room, we are running with both ports open/EQ2/Q = 0.3 .

Some time back I played around with various operating modes, and I liked all of them, with subtle strengths and weaknesses between the different modes depending on what program material was played and how loud it was played.

This thread is now a sticky

Sincerely,
Pete,

What material do you use in your demo room? Any suggestion on specific tracks or scenes?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 3rd, 2012, 9:40 PM
Pete_Hsu Pete_Hsu is offline
Hsu Research
 
Member Since: Dec 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,212
Pete_Hsu will become famous soon enoughPete_Hsu will become famous soon enough
Hi Sebastien,

I like to show the fight scene between Hulk and the other monster that happens near the end of the Blu Ray disc "Hulk". This shows off both the speakers and the subwoofer quite nicely.

There is also very intense LFE on the Blu Ray disc "Flight of the Phoenix" in the Sandstorm scene.

Sincerely,
__________________
Pete - Hsu Research
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 16th, 2012, 6:51 PM
TimmyD's Avatar
TimmyD TimmyD is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2011
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 13
TimmyD is on a distinguished road
Talking MaxOutput Baby!!!

After measuring my in-room response with each operational mode i found get the best response in MaxOutput mode.

Both ports Open
EQ-2
Q: .4

With a little EQing to bring down a couple peaks, im getting no more than a 2dB variation between 16hz thru 250hz!! Truly amazing!!

Thanks Pete for helping me load up my subs each time i came to pick them up!!

Last edited by TimmyD : January 16th, 2012 at 6:52 PM. Reason: Spelling...what else!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 16th, 2012, 7:31 PM
Sputter Sputter is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 323
Sputter is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyD View Post
After measuring my in-room response with each operational mode i found get the best response in MaxOutput mode.

Both ports Open
EQ-2
Q: .4

With a little EQing to bring down a couple peaks, im getting no more than a 2dB variation between 16hz thru 250hz!! Truly amazing!!

Thanks Pete for helping me load up my subs each time i came to pick them up!!
Care to share your graph?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 17th, 2012, 12:50 AM
TimmyD's Avatar
TimmyD TimmyD is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2011
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 13
TimmyD is on a distinguished road
Im not running any equipment that prints out the measurements sorry!

I did it old school, Test CD, SPL Meter (including compinsation for below 31.5) & a pen/paper. Thats why it took me so many hours of trial & error.I did graph the results by hand each time but they'd look like chicken scratch to you haha. After i found out how all each setting on the sub's plate amps changed the response, i dialed them in to fit my room best, then used the Sub Parametric EQ in my Yamaha RX-A2000 to bring those peaks down. I think the peaks were at 31.5hz for the VTF-15h & 63hz for the MBM-12 if i remember correct.

I know its not the most accurate way to do it but until i dive into getting a calibrated mic, REW, etc. This will have to do for me. The audible results from the time spent has been great & it was a fun learning experience!! I learned A LOT

My Wife thinks im crazy, setting there with warble tones playin, SPL meter on a tripod on the couch & all my hand drawn graphs...but once i was done & sat her down for a listen she appreciated, at least a tiny bit more, what i was working on.
__________________
5.2 Livingroom Theater
Panasonic TCP54V10
Yamaha RX-A2000
Emotiva XPA-5
Lenco L75 w/Ortofon 2M Red Cartidge
Rolls Bellari VP130 w/EH 12ax7 Tube

B&W (683-Mains HTM61-Center & 685-Surrounds)
HSU VTF-15H
HSU MBM-12 MK2
Earthquake Sound "Buttkicker"
Roku2 XD
APC-C5 Filter

Last edited by TimmyD : January 17th, 2012 at 12:55 AM. Reason: spellin of course!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 17th, 2012, 2:47 AM
Sputter Sputter is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 323
Sputter is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyD View Post
Im not running any equipment that prints out the measurements sorry!

I did it old school, Test CD, SPL Meter (including compinsation for below 31.5) & a pen/paper. Thats why it took me so many hours of trial & error.I did graph the results by hand each time but they'd look like chicken scratch to you haha. After i found out how all each setting on the sub's plate amps changed the response, i dialed them in to fit my room best, then used the Sub Parametric EQ in my Yamaha RX-A2000 to bring those peaks down. I think the peaks were at 31.5hz for the VTF-15h & 63hz for the MBM-12 if i remember correct.

I know its not the most accurate way to do it but until i dive into getting a calibrated mic, REW, etc. This will have to do for me. The audible results from the time spent has been great & it was a fun learning experience!! I learned A LOT

My Wife thinks im crazy, setting there with warble tones playin, SPL meter on a tripod on the couch & all my hand drawn graphs...but once i was done & sat her down for a listen she appreciated, at least a tiny bit more, what i was working on.
(i still have some graph paper floating around here someplace)

I did the same thing as you over a year ago then I bought and used the SMS-1. (considerably easier).
I've since moved to REW for measuring and the SMS-1 for EQ. REW is far more accurate.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old January 17th, 2012, 5:54 AM
TimmyD's Avatar
TimmyD TimmyD is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2011
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 13
TimmyD is on a distinguished road
Nice!! I bet it is quite a bit better!! Well thats good to hear from someone whose done both. I know ive made a improvement but its cool to know i can get it dialed in even better!
__________________
5.2 Livingroom Theater
Panasonic TCP54V10
Yamaha RX-A2000
Emotiva XPA-5
Lenco L75 w/Ortofon 2M Red Cartidge
Rolls Bellari VP130 w/EH 12ax7 Tube

B&W (683-Mains HTM61-Center & 685-Surrounds)
HSU VTF-15H
HSU MBM-12 MK2
Earthquake Sound "Buttkicker"
Roku2 XD
APC-C5 Filter
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old March 5th, 2012, 6:40 PM
DimeMecka's Avatar
DimeMecka DimeMecka is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
DimeMecka is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sputter View Post
(i still have some graph paper floating around here someplace)

I did the same thing as you over a year ago then I bought and used the SMS-1. (considerably easier).
I've since moved to REW for measuring and the SMS-1 for EQ. REW is far more accurate.
Are you more music then HT?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old March 5th, 2012, 7:05 PM
DimeMecka's Avatar
DimeMecka DimeMecka is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
DimeMecka is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyD View Post
Im not running any equipment that prints out the measurements sorry!

I did it old school, Test CD, SPL Meter (including compinsation for below 31.5) & a pen/paper. Thats why it took me so many hours of trial & error.I did graph the results by hand each time but they'd look like chicken scratch to you haha. After i found out how all each setting on the sub's plate amps changed the response, i dialed them in to fit my room best, then used the Sub Parametric EQ in my Yamaha RX-A2000 to bring those peaks down. I think the peaks were at 31.5hz for the VTF-15h & 63hz for the MBM-12 if i remember correct.

I know its not the most accurate way to do it but until i dive into getting a calibrated mic, REW, etc. This will have to do for me. The audible results from the time spent has been great & it was a fun learning experience!! I learned A LOT

My Wife thinks im crazy, setting there with warble tones playin, SPL meter on a tripod on the couch & all my hand drawn graphs...but once i was done & sat her down for a listen she appreciated, at least a tiny bit more, what i was working on.

Wow, I wish I was smart enough to do something like this! I have a analog SPL from radioshack but the most I can do with it is calibrate all my speakers. I am totally lost when it comes to the sub I don't understand how you run your test tones off of a cd and adjust your speakers at the same time? That's why I just use my receivers tones. Do you just keep switching back and forth from the cd to the receiver to adjust?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old March 5th, 2012, 9:08 PM
Dr_Hsu Dr_Hsu is offline
Administrator
 
Member Since: Mar 2003
Posts: 801
Dr_Hsu is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DimeMecka View Post
Wow, I wish I was smart enough to do something like this! I have a analog SPL from radioshack but the most I can do with it is calibrate all my speakers. I am totally lost when it comes to the sub I don't understand how you run your test tones off of a cd and adjust your speakers at the same time? That's why I just use my receivers tones. Do you just keep switching back and forth from the cd to the receiver to adjust?
The instructions come with the sub. The following is in the 15H manual:

For the most precise integration with your main speakers, go through test tones with a SPL meter. Setting the level using test tones by ear
may result in misconfiguration, so please use a meter. An analog Radio Shack SPL meter is inexpensive and works better for this application
than the digital Radio Shack SPL meter. It is available at RadioShack.com. Use the “C” weighting and “SLOW” settings and place the meter
at the listening position at ear level. Note that the Radio Shack analog meter is about 12 dB down at 16 Hz, 7 dB down at 20 Hz, 4 dB
down at 25 Hz, and 2 dB down at 31.5 Hz. Add these numbers to the readout on the SPL meter to compensate.
1) Using a test disk with one-third octave filtered pink noise or warble tones (such as the Hsu/BAS Test CD-1), play the 50 Hz test tone
and adjust the master volume level on the controller so that the SPL meter reads 80 dB at the listening position.
2) Play test tones from 20 Hz up to 200Hz, and note the SPL reading on the meter at each frequency.
3) Take the average of four test tones below the crossover frequency (ie. 63/50/40/31.5 Hz when using 80 Hz crossover).
4) Take the average of four test tones above the crossover frequency (ie. 100/125/160/200 Hz when using 80 Hz crossover).
5) Adjust the subwoofer level so that the lower range average equals the upper range average (ie. if the lower range average is 5dB more
than the upper range average, then adjust the subwoofer level down by 5dB). If your controller allows you to adjust subwoofer channel
level, use this to adjust the subwoofer level. Otherwise simply adjust the subwoofer volume knob instead.

Not too difficult, just tedious!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old March 6th, 2012, 12:11 AM
Sputter Sputter is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 323
Sputter is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DimeMecka View Post
Are you more music then HT?
No i'm not, cd's killed most of my music enjoyment so i'm more HT these days.

P.S. Dr Hsu has it right, it's tedious doing it by hand, more specifically if you want to measure more than one placement. lol

Last edited by Sputter : March 6th, 2012 at 12:18 AM. Reason: Extra info
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old March 6th, 2012, 12:13 AM
Dr_Hsu Dr_Hsu is offline
Administrator
 
Member Since: Mar 2003
Posts: 801
Dr_Hsu is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sputter View Post
No i'm not, cd's killed most of my music enjoyment so i'm more HT these days.
What are you doing up at this early hour??
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old March 6th, 2012, 12:27 AM
Sputter Sputter is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 323
Sputter is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Hsu View Post
What are you doing up at this early hour??
lol i'm an early riser, too many years of shift work.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old March 7th, 2012, 5:50 AM
OZZ OZZ is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Jan 2012
Posts: 64
OZZ is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sputter View Post
No i'm not, cd's killed most of my music enjoyment so i'm more HT these days.

P.S. Dr Hsu has it right, it's tedious doing it by hand, more specifically if you want to measure more than one placement. lol
I am just the opposite I have found that it is easier for the CD,DVD-A and SACD to play the bottom end a lot better than my old turntable that I had well into 2000.00 and it had to be on concrete blocks just to keep feedback down.
I almost think the rock I listened to had filters on the bottom end compared to the same song on CD although I will admit a few copies lost some of the dynamics do to PPP of the mastering which still happens.
One copy that was done very well is Dire Straits "Brothers In Arms" on the CD,DVD-A and SACD if they were all mastered this well we all would be happier.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old March 7th, 2012, 5:57 AM
Dr_Hsu Dr_Hsu is offline
Administrator
 
Member Since: Mar 2003
Posts: 801
Dr_Hsu is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by OZZ View Post
I am just the opposite I have found that it is easier for the CD,DVD-A and SACD to play the bottom end a lot better than my old turntable that I had well into 2000.00 and it had to be on concrete blocks just to keep feedback down.
I almost think the rock I listened to had filters on the bottom end compared to the same song on CD although I will admit a few copies lost some of the dynamics do to PPP of the mastering which still happens.
One copy that was done very well is Dire Straits "Brothers In Arms" on the CD,DVD-A and SACD if they were all mastered this well we all would be happier.
I think Sputter meant CDs do not sound as musical as LPs - more about the mids and highs than about the bass. Am I right, Sputter?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old March 7th, 2012, 6:03 AM
shaolin95 shaolin95 is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Mar 2012
Posts: 74
shaolin95 is on a distinguished road
As a new owner I can tell you I am still finding the best spot and settings but I am already impressed.
I have a MFW15 which was dead but that I was finally able to fix after I got the 15H but wow there is a big difference between the two.
Don't get me wrong, for the used price you can get a MFW15 like $350.. is an insane deal..nothing comes close BUT finding replacement parts is a pain..nearly impossible.
As for performance, the MFW15 has some BIG punch...War of the worlds sounds terrific..but that is the thing..mostly SOUNDS big....when I switched to the 15H a different experience came up...sounds huge but also you can feel it...hard to describe but wow it is addictive..is like a vibration on your body..legs...very cool...Of course both together I felt my room was under attack...so I am keeping both
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old March 7th, 2012, 7:13 AM
Sputter Sputter is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 323
Sputter is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Hsu View Post
I think Sputter meant CDs do not sound as musical as LPs - more about the mids and highs than about the bass. Am I right, Sputter?
Exactly right. I will admit they (CDs) have improved over time.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old March 7th, 2012, 7:15 AM
Dr_Hsu Dr_Hsu is offline
Administrator
 
Member Since: Mar 2003
Posts: 801
Dr_Hsu is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
As a new owner I can tell you I am still finding the best spot and settings but I am already impressed.
I have a MFW15 which was dead but that I was finally able to fix after I got the 15H but wow there is a big difference between the two.
Don't get me wrong, for the used price you can get a MFW15 like $350.. is an insane deal..nothing comes close BUT finding replacement parts is a pain..nearly impossible.
As for performance, the MFW15 has some BIG punch...War of the worlds sounds terrific..but that is the thing..mostly SOUNDS big....when I switched to the 15H a different experience came up...sounds huge but also you can feel it...hard to describe but wow it is addictive..is like a vibration on your body..legs...very cool...Of course both together I felt my room was under attack...so I am keeping both
Glad you like it, Shaolin95. Welcome to the Hsu 'family'.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old March 7th, 2012, 7:33 AM
shaolin95 shaolin95 is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Mar 2012
Posts: 74
shaolin95 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Hsu View Post
Glad you like it, Shaolin95. Welcome to the Hsu 'family'.
Thanks Doctor!
Took me a while to decide but I am sure I made the right call and I still need to work on the room to make it better but I am enjoying it too much to bother now.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old March 7th, 2012, 7:42 AM
Dr_Hsu Dr_Hsu is offline
Administrator
 
Member Since: Mar 2003
Posts: 801
Dr_Hsu is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
Thanks Doctor!
Took me a while to decide but I am sure I made the right call and I still need to work on the room to make it better but I am enjoying it too much to bother now.
When you have more time, post your room layout, pictures, etc., so we can all make suggestions on how to improve your setup.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old March 7th, 2012, 8:32 AM
shaolin95 shaolin95 is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Mar 2012
Posts: 74
shaolin95 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Hsu View Post
When you have more time, post your room layout, pictures, etc., so we can all make suggestions on how to improve your setup.
I will surely appreciate that. I am ordering a Galaxy CM-140 as well.
I need to get more exact measurements and get the layout and pictures for sure. It is an unfinished basement which I divided in two pretty much although there are openings where the ceiling should be..well you will see with the pics.

I also have some acoustic panels from GIK acoustics...randomly placed right now so all in all I sure can use some help.
Thanks again



PS not so sure about cm-140...looks like it only measures down to 31.5hz?

Last edited by shaolin95 : March 7th, 2012 at 10:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old March 7th, 2012, 12:30 PM
Dr_Hsu Dr_Hsu is offline
Administrator
 
Member Since: Mar 2003
Posts: 801
Dr_Hsu is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
I will surely appreciate that. I am ordering a Galaxy CM-140 as well.
I need to get more exact measurements and get the layout and pictures for sure. It is an unfinished basement which I divided in two pretty much although there are openings where the ceiling should be..well you will see with the pics.

I also have some acoustic panels from GIK acoustics...randomly placed right now so all in all I sure can use some help.
Thanks again



PS not so sure about cm-140...looks like it only measures down to 31.5hz?
It probably has similar frequency response characteristics as the Radio Shack SPL meter. I see that it has an A and C weighting. The roll off on the Radio Shack SPL meter is mostly due to the C weighting. Hence if you set the CM-140 to C weighting, use the correction factors for the Radio Shack meter. If any other forum members have measured the CM-140 and find otherwise, please post!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old March 7th, 2012, 1:37 PM
Sputter Sputter is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 323
Sputter is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Hsu View Post
It probably has similar frequency response characteristics as the Radio Shack SPL meter. I see that it has an A and C weighting. The roll off on the Radio Shack SPL meter is mostly due to the C weighting. Hence if you set the CM-140 to C weighting, use the correction factors for the Radio Shack meter. If any other forum members have measured the CM-140 and find otherwise, please post!
That sounds right though i'm not sure which Radio Shack calibration file you would need. I know of , 2 are for the analogue and one for digital.

Jim

P.S. there is a cal file for use with REW.

Last edited by Sputter : March 7th, 2012 at 1:42 PM. Reason: added P.S.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old March 7th, 2012, 8:28 PM
shaolin95 shaolin95 is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Mar 2012
Posts: 74
shaolin95 is on a distinguished road
Cool. I ordered one so I will get one those Radio Shack excel sheets and replace it the values on that cal file for the cm-140 and I am in business!


CHANGE of plans...found an analog Radio shack one for $15....for the price difference I just could not ignore it. Maybe I will get a calibrated cm-140 a bit later but for now , maybe I can use the catch for other things.

Last edited by shaolin95 : March 9th, 2012 at 5:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old April 6th, 2012, 11:54 AM
gerald410 gerald410 is offline
Registered User
 
Member Since: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
gerald410 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
Cool. I ordered one so I will get one those Radio Shack excel sheets and replace it the values on that cal file for the cm-140 and I am in business!


CHANGE of plans...found an analog Radio shack one for $15....for the price difference I just could not ignore it. Maybe I will get a calibrated cm-140 a bit later but for now , maybe I can use the catch for other things.
I have a cm-140 w/calibrator being shipped as we speak, I going to blame my order on Dr Hsu lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum Rules The Golden Rule: Treat others as you would want to be treated.

Technical Support: The best way to get tech support for serious issues is to call or email us. Questions asked on the forum may not be answered by qualified professionals.

No "Flaming": Spiteful talk and flaming wars will lead to "time-outs" for parties involved.

Shootouts: Shootouts are comparisons between products. We need to know about shootouts before allowing them on the forum, so call us and talk to the director of Sales before posting. Otherwise, your shootout may be removed.

Add to Reputation: Once you are a registered member, you can click this icon to add to the tally of other members' Rep Points. You must vote for seven other people before you can vote for the same person twice.

Report Bad Posts: Once you register, click this icon to let Administrators know if they should review a post. Please be specific as to why action might be needed.

HSU RESEARCH IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR COMMENTS MADE BY THIRD PARTY INDIVIDUALS ON THIS FORUM.

Thanks for reading the rules. Have a good time :)

In Association With